Applying OTAs on a rooted Karoo/with a modified /system

Third-party apps, customisation, mods, development, custom kernels & ROMs

WARNING - Here be dragons!
If you don't entirely understand what you're doing, even following someone else's guide could end up with you bricking your Karoo, or leaving it in an unsupported state with no way to go back. By all means enter, read and learn, but undertake actions on your Karoo at your own risk!
Forum rules
Undertake any procedures at your own risk and make sure you know how to reverse any changes. You could brick your Karoo or at the very least put it into an unsupported configuration.
Post Reply
cye
Posts: 11
Joined: Sun Mar 11, 2018 6:04 am

Applying OTAs on a rooted Karoo/with a modified /system

Post by cye » Sun Mar 25, 2018 5:29 am

This information is valid for update 1.4.135.3.

I can confirm that at the moment at least, Karoo uses full OTAs, and thus, they are safe to apply even if your /system is modified.

It's a good idea to verify this each time by opening up the OTA and checking that system.patch.dat is empty (it can be found in /cache when rooted). It's also a good idea to save the OTA file onto your computer.

I haven't been able to manually apply an OTA using stock recovery, but they apply fine so far using TWRP. They need to be modified to remove the device check, because when I ported TWRP, I didn't update default.prop values (sorry).

Aeon
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Apr 10, 2018 8:50 pm

Re: Applying OTAs on a rooted Karoo/with a modified /system

Post by Aeon » Tue Apr 10, 2018 9:16 pm

Would anyone be able to provide a copy of the latest OTA image?

jhazelwd
Posts: 43
Joined: Mon Mar 19, 2018 5:35 pm

Re: Applying OTAs on a rooted Karoo/with a modified /system

Post by jhazelwd » Fri Apr 13, 2018 2:53 am

@cye can you share the latest image?

jhazelwd
Posts: 43
Joined: Mon Mar 19, 2018 5:35 pm

Re: Applying OTAs on a rooted Karoo/with a modified /system

Post by jhazelwd » Sat Apr 28, 2018 4:54 am

I have the latest image, with device check removed, if we want to post it.

jhazelwd
Posts: 43
Joined: Mon Mar 19, 2018 5:35 pm

Re: Applying OTAs on a rooted Karoo/with a modified /system

Post by jhazelwd » Sat Apr 28, 2018 4:54 am

I have the latest image, with device check removed, if we want to post it.

User avatar
Steve
Site Admin
Posts: 588
Joined: Tue Mar 06, 2018 2:56 pm
Location: Surrey, UK

Re: Applying OTAs on a rooted Karoo/with a modified /system

Post by Steve » Sat Apr 28, 2018 7:16 am

jhazelwd wrote:
Sat Apr 28, 2018 4:54 am
I have the latest image, with device check removed, if we want to post it.
It's fine to post it up here - well, to link it up here. If you don't have a suitable place to host the file then attach it here and I will move it to a file hosting site (because this site doesn't have enough space to start hosting lots of large files).

Aeon
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Apr 10, 2018 8:50 pm

Re: Applying OTAs on a rooted Karoo/with a modified /system

Post by Aeon » Sat Apr 28, 2018 6:21 pm

jhazelwd wrote:
Sat Apr 28, 2018 4:54 am
I have the latest image, with device check removed, if we want to post it.
That would be great.

jhazelwd
Posts: 43
Joined: Mon Mar 19, 2018 5:35 pm

Re: Applying OTAs on a rooted Karoo/with a modified /system

Post by jhazelwd » Sun Apr 29, 2018 4:58 pm

Working on getting AFH development access. Once I'm able to upload I'll get them posted and links shared.

jhazelwd
Posts: 43
Joined: Mon Mar 19, 2018 5:35 pm

Re: Applying OTAs on a rooted Karoo/with a modified /system

Post by jhazelwd » Thu May 03, 2018 7:47 pm

Here is the latest OTA, which is a full firmware zip file. I've removed the device check so it's flashable from the TWRP build Chen created.

https://androidfilehost.com/?fid=746163614322262477

jhazelwd
Posts: 43
Joined: Mon Mar 19, 2018 5:35 pm

Re: Applying OTAs on a rooted Karoo/with a modified /system

Post by jhazelwd » Sat May 05, 2018 9:02 pm

Yesterday's OTA with device check removed. I haven't installed this one yet personally as it didn't appear to add much. Oops, looks like I mislabeled the version number of the file name. It's the latest though.

https://androidfilehost.com/?fid=890278863836283735

User avatar
Steve
Site Admin
Posts: 588
Joined: Tue Mar 06, 2018 2:56 pm
Location: Surrey, UK

Re: Applying OTAs on a rooted Karoo/with a modified /system

Post by Steve » Mon May 07, 2018 8:24 am

I've started a sticky thread to give links to the OTA files. What we really could do with is a dump of all the partitions of a brand-new Karoo though, or at least any Karoo. Because then we can make it possible to go backwards, i.e. flash back to the dumped release and then apply an OTA to go to whichever release you want.

dthempel
Site Admin
Posts: 321
Joined: Tue Mar 06, 2018 3:35 pm
Location: Cape Cod, MA
Contact:

Re: Applying OTAs on a rooted Karoo/with a modified /system

Post by dthempel » Mon May 07, 2018 12:00 pm

I would *love* to go back to the last release. 1.5.19 is the pits...

User avatar
Steve
Site Admin
Posts: 588
Joined: Tue Mar 06, 2018 2:56 pm
Location: Surrey, UK

Re: Applying OTAs on a rooted Karoo/with a modified /system

Post by Steve » Mon May 07, 2018 5:27 pm

dthempel wrote:
Mon May 07, 2018 12:00 pm
I would *love* to go back to the last release. 1.5.19 is the pits...
I'm pretty sure we'd break at least part of the internet if we could provide a straightforward method to revert to an earlier release. Anything would be better than the current release.

Aeon
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Apr 10, 2018 8:50 pm

Re: Applying OTAs on a rooted Karoo/with a modified /system

Post by Aeon » Mon May 07, 2018 7:02 pm

Steve wrote:
Mon May 07, 2018 8:24 am
I've started a sticky thread to give links to the OTA files. What we really could do with is a dump of all the partitions of a brand-new Karoo though, or at least any Karoo. Because then we can make it possible to go backwards, i.e. flash back to the dumped release and then apply an OTA to go to whichever release you want.
This would be a good thing to have an online archive of for several reasons.

jhazelwd
Posts: 43
Joined: Mon Mar 19, 2018 5:35 pm

Re: Applying OTAs on a rooted Karoo/with a modified /system

Post by jhazelwd » Tue May 08, 2018 2:28 am

These OTA's are full ROMs. I've installed any version I want, forward or backwards without issue. Just need to unlock bootloader and boot into TWRP and flash.

User avatar
Steve
Site Admin
Posts: 588
Joined: Tue Mar 06, 2018 2:56 pm
Location: Surrey, UK

Re: Applying OTAs on a rooted Karoo/with a modified /system

Post by Steve » Tue May 08, 2018 6:58 am

jhazelwd wrote:
Tue May 08, 2018 2:28 am
These OTA's are full ROMs. I've installed any version I want, forward or backwards without issue. Just need to unlock bootloader and boot into TWRP and flash.
Wow, so they're not really OTAs at all then? Well I guess they're not OTA updates, they're OTA ROMs then.

Many thanks for that.

jhazelwd
Posts: 43
Joined: Mon Mar 19, 2018 5:35 pm

Re: Applying OTAs on a rooted Karoo/with a modified /system

Post by jhazelwd » Tue May 08, 2018 4:15 pm

Correct, Chen found that out early on. So far they've been full, but we'll be keeping an eye out in case that changes. So if you want to go back it's pretty easy to do.

jhazelwd
Posts: 43
Joined: Mon Mar 19, 2018 5:35 pm

Re: Applying OTAs on a rooted Karoo/with a modified /system

Post by jhazelwd » Sat May 19, 2018 11:57 pm

I updated to the May 17th update and battery life sucked. I reverted back to two back and hopefully it will be back to normal. Probably better to stick with the 1.5.1.3 build if you didn't have problems with it until the Hammerhead team gets their act together.

albus_potter
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Oct 15, 2018 8:23 am

Re: Applying OTAs on a rooted Karoo/with a modified /system

Post by albus_potter » Mon Oct 15, 2018 8:27 am

This is so cool! I tried to look at the ADB logs to find out how to get the OTA link. So how did you do this?

User avatar
Steve
Site Admin
Posts: 588
Joined: Tue Mar 06, 2018 2:56 pm
Location: Surrey, UK

Re: Applying OTAs on a rooted Karoo/with a modified /system

Post by Steve » Mon Oct 15, 2018 9:24 am

albus_potter wrote:
Mon Oct 15, 2018 8:27 am
This is so cool! I tried to look at the ADB logs to find out how to get the OTA link. So how did you do this?
You'll need to be rooted to be able to intercept the OTA link on your device. jhazlewd was planning on writing up a guide on exactly how to get the URL, but I don't think he's managed to sort that out yet.

Post Reply