TWRP for Karoo

Third-party apps, customisation, mods, development, custom kernels & ROMs

WARNING - Here be dragons!
If you don't entirely understand what you're doing, even following someone else's guide could end up with you bricking your Karoo, or leaving it in an unsupported state with no way to go back. By all means enter, read and learn, but undertake actions on your Karoo at your own risk!
Forum rules
Undertake any procedures at your own risk and make sure you know how to reverse any changes. You could brick your Karoo or at the very least put it into an unsupported configuration.
cye
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Mar 11, 2018 6:04 am

TWRP for Karoo

Post by cye » Mon Mar 19, 2018 3:35 pm

I'll post more info later, but here's TWRP ported for Karoo. You will need a unlocked bootloader to run this.

Please note that touch does not work when this image is flashed to /recovery. You must boot the image using fastboot instead:

Code: Select all

fastboot boot path/to/twrp.img
Edit: At least for versions up to 1.4.135.3, updates are served as full OTAs, and so it doesn't matter if you have a modified /system. Flash away!

Download here.
Last edited by cye on Sun Mar 25, 2018 5:35 am, edited 1 time in total.

cye
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Mar 11, 2018 6:04 am

Re: TWRP for Karoo

Post by cye » Mon Mar 19, 2018 3:39 pm

Some notes:

The reason this image doesn't currently work in /recovery is because Mediatek devices don't enable touch firmware when booted into the /recovery partition. The fix for this would be to use a custom kernel, I believe, although I haven't looked in too much detail yet. You should be able to find info on XDA if you're interested in trying however.

Magisk works fine.

Play services can be installed after root by deleting the Karoo NLP app (in system), and flashing OpenGApps. You will want to do this *after* booting into a fresh install of the OS (contrary to normal OpenGApps) to be safe--at least one individual has reported soft bricking, maybe due to verity check fails. If you do so, would love to see some battery usage analysis.

User avatar
Steve
Site Admin
Posts: 480
Joined: Tue Mar 06, 2018 2:56 pm
Location: Surrey, UK

Re: TWRP for Karoo

Post by Steve » Mon Mar 19, 2018 4:30 pm

Have you tried any non-touch-based recoveries on Karoo? Wondering if it might be better to find something else that could be flashed into recovery?

cye
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Mar 11, 2018 6:04 am

Re: TWRP for Karoo

Post by cye » Mon Mar 19, 2018 5:40 pm

I haven't, though you could probably port CWM. It might be more difficult, however, since the MT6735 is a fairly modern processor, and not many people still make non-touch recoveries.

To be clear, I haven't yet managed to compile any recovery from source yet; that'll likely require more extensive work.

jhazelwd
Posts: 43
Joined: Mon Mar 19, 2018 5:35 pm

Re: TWRP for Karoo

Post by jhazelwd » Mon Mar 19, 2018 5:47 pm

Just remember, if you replace your recovery first backup the default recovery, and second you won't be able to automatically apply ota updates as they typically require default recovery. Unless you're planning on using recovery a lot, it's easier to just boot to recovery via fastboot and leave your original untouched.

User avatar
Steve
Site Admin
Posts: 480
Joined: Tue Mar 06, 2018 2:56 pm
Location: Surrey, UK

Re: TWRP for Karoo

Post by Steve » Tue Mar 20, 2018 4:34 pm

Does anyone know if the HH OTAs are file-based or block-based? Because a block-based OTA will fail if the system partition has been modified, but a file-based one might still work (e.g. if just additional stuff has been put on there, and none of the existing files have been modified). I assumed because Karoo is using 6.0, it will be block-based.

nordog
Posts: 164
Joined: Thu Mar 08, 2018 7:32 pm

Re: TWRP for Karoo

Post by nordog » Tue Mar 20, 2018 5:37 pm

Way over my head is this.

jhazelwd
Posts: 43
Joined: Mon Mar 19, 2018 5:35 pm

Re: TWRP for Karoo

Post by jhazelwd » Tue Mar 20, 2018 6:40 pm

Looks like block based otas for 5.0 and later.

https://source.android.com/devices/tech/ota/nonab/block

User avatar
Steve
Site Admin
Posts: 480
Joined: Tue Mar 06, 2018 2:56 pm
Location: Surrey, UK

Re: TWRP for Karoo

Post by Steve » Wed Mar 21, 2018 2:23 pm

jhazelwd wrote:
Tue Mar 20, 2018 6:40 pm
Looks like block based otas for 5.0 and later.

https://source.android.com/devices/tech/ota/nonab/block
That's what Google wants them to do, but I was just checking if anyone has been able to verify that is indeed what they do. ;)

jhazelwd
Posts: 43
Joined: Mon Mar 19, 2018 5:35 pm

Re: TWRP for Karoo

Post by jhazelwd » Wed Mar 21, 2018 4:55 pm

Ahh gotcha! I thought you had to apply them via block, or you'd break the Dm-verity check (so I was thinking you wouldn't have a choice). Hopefully someone can confirm definitively.

cye
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Mar 11, 2018 6:04 am

Re: TWRP for Karoo

Post by cye » Sun Mar 25, 2018 5:37 am

So it looks like the official Android documentation is ambiguous on this, but I just wanted to confirm that Karoo's OTAs (as of 1.4.135.3) are block-based, but they fully replace /system, so it doesn't matter--they won't fail with a modified system.img.

jhazelwd
Posts: 43
Joined: Mon Mar 19, 2018 5:35 pm

Re: TWRP for Karoo

Post by jhazelwd » Sun Mar 25, 2018 11:58 pm

It would be nice to have a place to store/upload the OTA files for future use.

dthempel
Site Admin
Posts: 248
Joined: Tue Mar 06, 2018 3:35 pm
Location: Cape Cod, MA
Contact:

Re: TWRP for Karoo

Post by dthempel » Mon Mar 26, 2018 1:00 am

Depending on the size and how many, this might be an option. Steve has the details on the hosting.

User avatar
Steve
Site Admin
Posts: 480
Joined: Tue Mar 06, 2018 2:56 pm
Location: Surrey, UK

Re: TWRP for Karoo

Post by Steve » Mon Mar 26, 2018 7:04 am

Agree that we should collect the OTA files. I'll have a think about how/where we could best host them.

User avatar
Steve
Site Admin
Posts: 480
Joined: Tue Mar 06, 2018 2:56 pm
Location: Surrey, UK

Re: TWRP for Karoo

Post by Steve » Mon Mar 26, 2018 8:07 am

The hosting plan has 20GB of storage. Which might sound like a fair bit, but that's going to fill up pretty quickly given that we're getting 1-2 OTAs every 2 weeks at the moment.

So what I suggest is that files can be initially uploaded here to the forum, but then I will move the file into an account I've created on androidfilehost.com (and edit the posting accordingly to point to that). So then the files can still be linked here but can be stored for free and won't compete for space with other uploads here (photos, guides, etc).

jhazelwd
Posts: 43
Joined: Mon Mar 19, 2018 5:35 pm

Re: TWRP for Karoo

Post by jhazelwd » Mon Mar 26, 2018 5:12 pm

That's a great idea. Agreed the otas are quite large and will eat that storage up in no time.

Aeon
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Apr 10, 2018 8:50 pm

Re: TWRP for Karoo

Post by Aeon » Wed Apr 11, 2018 3:36 am

Does anyone have a copy of an OTA file they'd be willing to post? Thanks!

Johnboy693
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu May 03, 2018 12:24 am

Re: TWRP for Karoo

Post by Johnboy693 » Wed May 16, 2018 4:22 am

so what am I missing on getting twrp installed? This is what I've done.

1) enabled Developer options, USB debugging, and OEM unlocking
2) put twrp.img in the same folder as adb
3) opened cmd line in said folder
4) ran adb reboot bootloader
5) flashboot flash recovery twrp.img

and I get a failure error in adb.

Other questions I have

1)can I just disable Karoo NLP app? if not, can I backup the app in case I need it later?
2) is there a way to backup the recovery for the Karoo before I install TWRP? or will doing a backup in twrp be sufficient if I brick the device somehow.


Thanks guys!

dthempel
Site Admin
Posts: 248
Joined: Tue Mar 06, 2018 3:35 pm
Location: Cape Cod, MA
Contact:

Re: TWRP for Karoo

Post by dthempel » Wed May 16, 2018 12:28 pm

Johnboy693 wrote:
Wed May 16, 2018 4:22 am
so what am I missing on getting twrp installed?
If you're not really sure what you're doing and need step-by-step, I might suggest you stop now. This forum, nor its contributors, will not be able to help you (or be responsible) if you actually hard "brick" your hardware. HH won't replace it, either. If you don't have $300 to waste playing around, I'd stick with the regular software updates.

Johnboy693
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu May 03, 2018 12:24 am

Re: TWRP for Karoo

Post by Johnboy693 » Wed May 16, 2018 3:03 pm

I know the risks, I've installed twrp this way countless times. Just because I feel like I'm missing something doesn't mean I don't know what I'm doing. The purpose of a forum is to discuss things like this I thought?

Post Reply