Page 2 of 2

Re: Improving Karoo through the use of Android Apps

Posted: Wed Dec 26, 2018 9:51 pm
by jhnbssll
Hi Guys. I've just sideloaded a handful of apps and am struggling to get OsmAnd to open gpx files; I get a message pop up saying "failed to open GPX data null" or something similar.

I have installed dropbox and tried opening the file directly from there. I have also tried downloading the file to the device and navigating to it through OsmAnd but get the same result both ways, with all 5 of the GPX files I have tried so far. These are all downloaded from the HH dashboard...

Any thoughts? What am I doing wrong? Thanks in advance :)

John

Re: Improving Karoo through the use of Android Apps

Posted: Wed Dec 26, 2018 11:46 pm
by jhnbssll
OK so I have just tried adding a GPX file created on another website other than the HH dashboard and it works fine; I presume the HH export is to blame rather than the OsmAnd installation or device settings. Has anyone succesfully exported GPX files from the HH dashboard and imported them in to OsmAnd or am I going to have to start using an alternative routing site?

Cheers, JB

Re: Improving Karoo through the use of Android Apps

Posted: Thu Jan 10, 2019 2:07 pm
by Psyclist
jhnbssll wrote:
Wed Dec 26, 2018 9:51 pm
Any thoughts? What am I doing wrong?
What exactly did you do? I just adb-pushed an exported GPX file from the Dashboard to

Code: Select all

/sdcard/Android/data/net.osmand.plus/files/tracks
and it worked fine. Maybe you copied it somewhere else and are having a permissions problem?

Re: Improving Karoo through the use of Android Apps

Posted: Sun Mar 03, 2019 8:51 pm
by alan.whymant
Hi,
I decided to take the plunge and install OSMAND and other apps on my Karoo. I'm following the steps in the guide; everything is going well, but I cannot find the Switchr app via APKpure. Search brings up some similar apps, but not this one. This might be location-related (I'm in France). Can I install Switchr directly using its .apk package via the Android debug bridge?

Thanks,
Alan.

Re: Improving Karoo through the use of Android Apps

Posted: Mon Mar 04, 2019 8:19 am
by Steve
alan.whymant wrote:
Sun Mar 03, 2019 8:51 pm
I decided to take the plunge and install OSMAND and other apps on my Karoo. I'm following the steps in the guide; everything is going well, but I cannot find the Switchr app via APKpure. Search brings up some similar apps, but not this one. This might be location-related (I'm in France). Can I install Switchr directly using its .apk package via the Android debug bridge?
I haven't done it myself, but I don't see why that wouldn't work. Certainly no harm in trying.

Re: Improving Karoo through the use of Android Apps

Posted: Mon Mar 04, 2019 8:30 pm
by alan.whymant
Steve wrote:
Mon Mar 04, 2019 8:19 am
I haven't done it myself, but I don't see why that wouldn't work. Certainly no harm in trying.
Thanks Steve, worked a treat and I now have Switchr and Komoot running.

Re: Improving Karoo through the use of Android Apps

Posted: Tue Apr 16, 2019 3:15 pm
by MTB+Race
JohnJ80 wrote:
Sun Jul 08, 2018 8:13 pm
I don't see any real impact on battery life.
So, battery life with sideloaded apps is similar to using the Karoo's Ride app. But the big question for me is does the Karoo still suffer from the battery depletion bug, where the battery drains very quickly from about 50% to shutdown in half an hour or so, when using OSMAnd or Locus Map?

Using the stock app I consistently can only use the first 50% of battery life before I start worrying about the Karoo dying on me mid-ride. If, by sideloading I can work around this problem I might give the Karoo (yet) another try.

Cheers,

Re: Improving Karoo through the use of Android Apps

Posted: Tue Apr 16, 2019 8:51 pm
by JohnJ80
I'd doubt it. I think it's going to be a very low level OS issue (i.e. the stuff that HH had to do to interface Android to their hardware), a hardware issue with the fuel gauge circuit or it's software driver, or an issue with the batteries themselves.

What you could do though, is run Accubattery (available through one of the app stores like Amazon or APKpure) to give you and idea of what the consumption is and how it's working. Knowing that the battery is a 3300mAh battery, you should be able to see if (a) that's the capacity your getting, (b) the rate you are using the battery and (c) if if it's behaving properly down to zero.

J.

Re: Improving Karoo through the use of Android Apps

Posted: Fri May 03, 2019 7:09 am
by Voetsb
Since the last update I had to do a factory reset because the free space on the Karoo was not given right. I had to sideload Komoot again (I really can't do without) APKpure and Switchr. But I can't get Switchr working again in the free version, and updating to pro-version is not possible with APKPure. Who can help me out? I am going to Mallorca next week and I would like to switch(r) between Komoot and HH as I am used to do for about a year.

Re: Improving Karoo through the use of Android Apps

Posted: Tue Jul 23, 2019 8:21 am
by Psyclist
JohnJ80 wrote:
Sun Jul 15, 2018 5:50 pm
For the audio, I use my Aftershokz BT headset (bone conduction - nothing in your ear) and it works perfectly.
TBH I didn't even know about this technology before. I found one of those (Vocalskull Beyond5 -- supposedly completely waterproof and a lot more affordable than the waterproof Aftershokz model) these days, remembered your post and bought it. Brilliant idea! Not the best sound quality obviously but with all the wind noise it hardly matters anyway and for navigation instructions it's perfect.

Re: Improving Karoo through the use of Android Apps

Posted: Tue Jul 23, 2019 8:41 pm
by JohnJ80
Yep. I use them on almost every ride. The work great. Situational awareness is there and it gets past the wind.

Audio TbT is a game changer in the bike computer market space. I've been encouraging HH to implement this quickly. Garmin can't do it with their current software and CPU and probably architecture. And, it's absolutely the right answer for safety for cyclists.

Re: Improving Karoo through the use of Android Apps

Posted: Wed Oct 02, 2019 1:13 pm
by filipal
Hi,

I tried to install the Locus map but I get the message installation failed.
How did you install the app?
Thanks